by bearclau is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) commends candidate for Ohio’s 75th State House District, Sally Culling, for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. By signing the Pledge, Culling makes a bold written commitment to the taxpayers of Ohio to oppose and vote against any tax increases.

“I applaud Sally Culling for taking a decisive stand for Ohio taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge,” said ATR President Grover Norquist. “She has demonstrated a true commitment to the values of fiscal responsibility and pro-growth tax policy. This pledge is a powerful symbol of her unwavering support for hardworking Ohioans and their right to keep more of their hard-earned money.”

Ohio taxpayers have enjoyed great legislative successes when it comes to reducing and flattening income tax rates and reforming unnecessary regulations. However, just a few short years ago, Gov. DeWine and former House Speaker Larry Householder spearheaded a massive gas tax hike (which ATR opposed). This kind of tax hike threat is why Ohio taxpayers need more Taxpayer Protection Pledge-signers who will champion protecting their wallets. Sally Culling has made the public commitment to voters to be one of those taxpayer champions by signing the pledge.

Prior to her candidacy for the Ohio House of Representatives, Ms. Culling served in public office when she was elected to her native town council in Nottingham, England. She served as an analyst for the Heritage Foundation’s Margaret Thatcher Center for Freedom and as a staffer for the European Parliament.

Candidates for public office often assure voters that they will never raise taxes, but once elected, disregard those promises. The Taxpayer Protection Pledge requires that candidates put their pro-taxpayer commitments in writing, so the promise is much harder to break.

The Taxpayer Protection Pledge was created in 1985 by Americans for Tax Reform as a way to solidify candidates’ commitments to taxpayers. President Reagan urged all candidates to sign the Pledge. He campaigned for and praised candidates who signed the Pledge. Today, over 1,400 elected officials and candidates across the federal and state level are Taxpayer Protection Pledge signers.

There are currently 189 Pledge signers in the U.S. House and 42 Pledge signers in the U.S. Senate. 85% of Congressional Republicans have signed The Pledge and put into writing their commitment to oppose tax increases, contrasting the ZERO congressional Democrats who have made this commitment. New candidates sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge regularly. Please visit the ATR Pledge Database for the most up-to-date information on the Pledge.