Today former Congressman Nathan Deal, a Republican running to be the next governor of Georgia, signed the gubernatorial Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The gubernatorial Pledge is a commitment to constituents to “oppose and veto any and all efforts to increase taxes.”

Currently, 19 Georgia State Senators and 51 State Representatives have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. They join 7 Governors and over 1,100 sitting state legislators across the country who have made this important commitment to taxpayers.

“Georgians need leaders committed to fiscal responsibility and pro-growth economic policies. Nathan Deal has long stood on the side of the taxpayers on the Federal level and I commend him for signaling his intent to continue this commitment to the people of Georgia by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in his bid for governor,”said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.

Others who have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in Georgia's gubernatorial race include Sen. Jeff Chapman, former Secretary of State Karen Handel, former Senator Eric Johnson, and Insurance Commissioner John Oxendine.

“With politicians in Washington having raised taxes by hundreds of billions of dollars in just the past year, now more than ever it is important for Georgians to elect leaders who will not pile on with further economically adverse tax increases at the state level. In signing the Pledge, Nathan Deal makes clear that he recognizes this,” added Norquist.“I strongly encourage every candidate for elected office in Georgia to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge.