Virginia voters deserve to know where a candidate stands on taxes and spending. The good news is three Republican candidates, in their bid to become the next governor of Virginia, have done just that by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge: a written commitment to voters that, if elected, they will “oppose and veto any and all efforts to increase taxes.” 

Glenn Youngkin was the first contender in the race to replace outgoing Governor Ralph Northam to sign the Pledge, followed by Pete Snyder, and Colonel Sergio de la Peña. In making this principled written commitment to Virginia voters, all three candidates recognize that the problem is not that hardworking Virginian’s are taxed too little, it’s that the government spends too much.   

“I commend Youngkin, Snyder, and de la Peña for making it crystal clear to voters that there will be no tax increases under their watch if elected,” said Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform. “Virginia voters have been hit with several tax hikes in recent years. They deserve an ally in the executive branch, now more than ever, who will not raid their bank accounts. Instead, these candidates have committed to focus on making government more efficient, so Virginia becomes a more attractive place to live, invest, and do business.” 

Youngkin, Snyder, and De La Peña join two candidates for Lieutenant Governor, Tim Hugo and Winsome Sears, as well as, Jason Miyares, a candidate for Attorney General in making this important pledge to Virginia Taxpayers.  

Anyone can say they are against tax hikes, but only those who are firm in their beliefs will make that commitment in writing. Just ask the 223 members of the United States Congress, and 13 Governors—all of whom have joined approximately 1,000 state legislators across the country in signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge.  

Americans for Tax Reform asks all candidates for state and federal office to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. Candidates for Virginia Governor can still make this important commitment to voters ahead of the June 8 primary by visiting:  www.atr.org/take-the-pledge.  

New candidates sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge regularly. For the most up-to-date information on this race or any other, please visit the ATR Pledge Database.