Van Taylor, a Republican running in Texas’s 66th State House District, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). By signing the Pledge, Taylor has made a written commitment that he will oppose any and all efforts to raise taxes in the Lone Star State. 

To date, Governor Rick Perry, four state senators and 29 members of the Texas House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven governors and over 1,100 state legislators across the country have signed the Pledge.
“Texans, and all Americans, are desperately searching for candidates and lawmakers that will protect their pocketbooks and put taxpayers and employers ahead of government’s coffers,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.
Van Taylor has been endorsed by Texans for Fiscal Responsibility, Young Conservatives of Texas, and Congressman Jeb Hensarling. 

“Fiscal restraint and a commitment to limited government are the reason why Texas is the nation’s economic powerhouse and is why Texas has not followed the likes of California, Michigan, and New York into financial ruin. Van Taylor has proven that he intends to continue Texas’s commitment to pro-growth policies by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge,” Norquist continued. “I urge all candidates for federal and state office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today.”