*This post has been updated to reflect former State Rep. Phil Krinkie's signing of the Pledge

On May 29, Rep. Michele Bachmann (MN-06) made a surprise announcement that she would not be seeking re-election. According to Politics1, five candidates have officially entered the race to succeed her.

Anoka County Board of Commissioners Chair Rhonda Sivarajah and former State Rep. Phil Krinkie are the first so far to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. Their Republican primary opponents include state legislature veterans Tom Emmer and John Pederson.

The Cook Political Report rates Minnesota’s 6th Congressional District as the most conservative in the state, with a Partisan Voter Index of “R+10.” It shifted the race rating to “Solid Republican” after 2012 Democratic nominee Jim Graves declined to run. Mitt Romney carried the district with 56 percent of the vote in November.

The primary date is scheduled for August 12. When it comes time to vote, Gopher State taxpayers will know which candidates are committed to opposing higher taxes in Washington.