Americans for Tax Reform commends Tommy Moll (R-Ark.) for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge to the voters of Arkansas’ Fourth District. Moll signed the Pledge on Thursday, January 9.

Moll faces Bruce Westerman in the district’s GOP primary. Westerman has not yet signed the pledge. The winner will face Janis Percefull or James Lee Witt. Tom Cotton (R-Ark.) Vacated the seat in order to challenge incumbent Sen. Mark Pryor (D-Ark.)  

Sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform, the Pledge is a written commitment to the voters that Moll will “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”

In a letter to his constituents, Moll writes “I am running for Congress to defend our freedoms from a federal government that is out of control. With your help, I will fight to ensure that Arkansas remains a land of opportunity and prosperity for future generations… I believe this approach is right for the Fourth District of Arkansas, where President Obama’s policies have kept Arkansans from finding jobs, obtaining loans, and starting new businesses. This approach is also right for our country, where out-of-control spending has produced a national debt so large that it threatens every American with the prospect of economic calamity.”

Cook Political Report rates AR-04 a solid Republican race with a PVI of R+15. Tom Cotton won the 2012 election with 60 percent of the vote and Mitt Romney won 62 percent of the vote in the 2012 presidential election. The winner of the Republican primary on May 20 will likely win the general election based on these trends.   

Any candidate who registers prior to the March 3 deadline will receive the opportunity to sign the pledge. 

The general election will take place on November 4, 2014.