Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) congratulates state Rep. Timothy Derickson for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, which is a written commitment to the people of Ohio to oppose higher taxes. Mr. Derickson is seeking to replace retiring former Speaker John Boehner in Ohio’s eighth congressional district.

Timothy Derickson is a current member of the Ohio House of Representatives, where he represents the taxpayers of the 53rd District. He serves as Chairman of the Community and Family Advancement Committee as well a member of the Government Accountability and Oversight Committees.

“I want to congratulate Timothy Derickson for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. Until you take tax increases firmly off the table, real and lasting spending restraint is impossible,” said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform.

“The American people are tired of the tax-and-spend policies coming from Washington, and they are looking for solutions that create jobs, cut government spending, and get the economy going again. Signing the Pledge is the first step in that process.”

Candidates running for office like to say they will not raise taxes, but often turn their backs on the taxpayer once elected. The Taxpayer Protection Pledge requires these candidates to put their rhetoric in writing. It is offered to every candidate for state and federal office and to all incumbents. Nearly 1,400 elected officials, from state representative to governor to US Senator, have signed the Pledge.


“We are ecstatic about his commitment to the taxpayers of Ohio. I challenge all candidates for Ohio’s 8th District to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” continued Norquist.

ATR will continue to follow this race closely and will provide additional updates as more candidates sign the Pledge.