Darren Yancy recently became the first candidate in Texas’ 17th Congressional District to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. This Texas district is one of the more Republican districts in the country that is currently represented by a Democrat.

Cook Political Report ranks TX-17 as R+20 on the Partisan Voter Index (PVI). In the last two Presidential elections the GOP candidate has received 70% in 2004 and 67% in 2008. Though Congressman Edwards has been twice re-elected to his seat in TX-17; his percentage of the vote saw a decrease of 5 points from 2006-2008.
As a pledge signer, Mr. Yancy has made a commitment to the voters in Texas that he will fight to ensure that their taxes are not increased. Although Congressman Edwards is not a signer; we here at ATR encourage him to do so as we encourage all candidates and elected officials who have not yet done so.

To see ATR’s official release on Darren Yancy signing the Pledge, read below.

Darren Yancy (R-Texas) signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Congressional candidate promises to protect taxpayers’ wallets
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Darren Yancy, a Republican running in 17th Congressional District in Texas, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”
ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, 35 U.S. senators and 172 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven Governors and over 1,100 state legislators have signed the Pledge.
“After the passage of the so-called “Stimulus Package,” better known as the Pelosi-Obama-Reid Spending Give-Away, Americans are desperately searching for candidates and politicians that will protect their livelihoods and put their wallets ahead of the federal government’s coffers,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.
“By signing the Pledge, Darren Yancy demonstrates that he understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers of Texas’ 17th district.”
“I challenge all candidates for federal office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” Norquist continued.

Copies of the Pledge are available at www.atr.org or by calling (122) 785-0266