Texas Senator Glenn Hegar (R) has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in his bid to become the next comptroller of Texas. The Pledge, sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR), commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase taxes.” In signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, Hegar is making the same important commitment to Texas taxpayers that he made and has kept as a state senator.

Today the Taxpayer Protection Pledge is offered to every candidate for state office and to all incumbents. More than 1,000 state legislators and 13 governors have signed the Pledge. Statehouse tax-and-spend interests have to contend with Pledge signers in every state. ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, 39 U.S. Senators and 219 sitting members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge.

“I want to congratulate Glenn Hegar for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, and in doing so, reaffirming his commitment to protect Lone Star State taxpayers,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR. “By signing the Pledge, Glenn Hegar demonstrates that he understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers of Texas and that he will be a great fiscal steward for the state. I challenge all candidates running for elected office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today.”

Glenn Hegar is currently the youngest member of the Texas State Senate. None of his primary opponents have made the same commitment to protect Texas taxpayers. The Republican nominee to replace Texas Comptroller Susan Combs will be decided in the March 4th primary.

To view a PDF copy of the press release, click here.

UPDATE (1/8): Texas state Rep. Harvey Hilderbran, who is also running to be the next state comptroller, signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge this week. Texas voters are fortunate to have multiple candidates for comptroller make this important committment to Lone Star State Taxpayers.