Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) promises to oppose and vote against any effort to raise taxes.

Washington, D.C. – Taxpayers rejoiced today when a sitting senator publicly acknowledged the emptiness of taxes as a solution to the nation\’s problems and promised never to resort to tax hikes. Alaska Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R) signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR), the nation\’s foremost taxpayer advocacy organization. The Pledge commits signers to "oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses…and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates."

By signing, Senator Murkowski joins President Bush, 41 U.S. senators (including Ted Stevens), 217 members of the U.S. House of Representatives (including Don Young) as pledge signers. Additionally, eight Governors and over 1, 200 state legislators have signed the Pledge as well.

"Today is a great day for Alaska, and for American taxpayers," declared Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform. "Sen. Murkowski took a bold stand by rebuffing the big spending interests in Washington. It seems all too rare these days, but Lisa Murkowski has demonstrated that some politicians put their constituents\’ pocketbooks ahead of political pay-offs and back room deals."

ATR has offered the Pledge to all federal incumbents and candidates since 1987, and with Senator Murkowski\’s signature, over 80% of all Republican Senators have signed.

"The Pledge not only demonstrates to taxpayers a lawmaker\’s willingness to oppose tax increases, but also a dedication and commitment to ensuring their interests be protected as well," said Norquist. "I strongly encourage all lawmakers to sign the Pledge, and show their commitment to the American taxpayer."

Copies of the Pledge and a list of current Pledge signers are available at, or by calling (202) 785-0266.