Voters expressed their clear dissatisfaction with President Obama’s economic policies by electing Taxpayer Protection Pledge signers in the two special elections yesterday. Mark Amodei will be replacing Sen. Dean Heller, also a Pledge signer, in Nevada’s second congressional district while Bob Turner will be replacing the disgraced Democrat Congressman Anthony Weiner in New York’s ninth congressional district.

The addition of Amodei and Turner brings the total number of Pledge signers in the U.S. House of Representatives to 238 members. There are currently 41 Pledge signers in the U.S. Senate.

“The election of two Taxpayer Protection Pledge signers in the NV-02 and NY-09 special elections yesterday should send a clear message to President Obama that Americans are tired of his unsuccessful, big government tax-and-spend policies. They are looking for a coherent economic policy that supports job creation and fiscal responsibility without the class warfare rhetoric,” said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform.

“I applaud the decisions of Rep.-elect Mark Amodei and Rep.-elect Bob Turner to stand with taxpayers by signing the “no tax” Pledge. Voters have a right to know where candidates stand on the issues before they’re elected. Amodei and Turner showed they are on the side of taxpayers and were chosen to represent taxpayers in Nevada and New York to reverse the President’s failed economic policies,” continued Norquist.

“After the success of Taxpayer Protection Pledge signers in Nevada and New York this week, I encourage all candidates running for elected office to stand on behalf of taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today.”

[printable pdf]