Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) congratulates Taxpayer Protection Pledge signer J.D. Vance on his victory in the Ohio U.S. Senate race. As a Pledge signer, Vance made a written commitment to the taxpayers of Ohio to oppose and vote against income tax hikes. Democrat Tim Ryan never signed the Pledge and left the door open to higher taxes on Americans and their families. 

“I congratulate Taxpayer Protection Pledge signer J.D. Vance on winning the Ohio U.S. Senate race. Vance focused on the kitchen table issues that mattered most to everyday Americans during the campaign and they rewarded him,” said ATR President Grover Norquist. Vance will be instrumental in pushing back against President Biden’s radical agenda throughout his time in office,” continued Norquist.  

After two long years of Democrat policies crushing American workers, retirees, consumers, and small businesses, voters have finally had enough. Voters have spoken and they elected candidates focused on pro-growth policies that hold the line on taxes and expand economic opportunities for Americans.    

Eighty-five percent of all congressional Republicans have made the written commitment to oppose higher taxes. In contrast, ZERO congressional Democrats have made that promise. 

For the most up-to-date information, please visit the ATR Pledge Database.