Doug Burgum

Americans for Tax Reform congratulates Doug Burgum (R- N.D.) on winning the North Dakota gubernatorial primary. Doug Burgum is a Taxpayer Protection Pledge signer.

Americans for Tax Reform offers the Pledge to all candidates for state and federal office. In the 114th Congress, 49 U.S. Senators and 218 members of the U.S. House of Representatives are pledge signers. Pledge signers include Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, House Speaker Paul D. Ryan, House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, House Majority Whip Steve Scalise, and GOP Conference Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers. Senate Finance Committee Chairman Orrin Hatch and House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Kevin Brady are also pledge signers.

On the state level, approximately 1,000 incumbent state legislators are Pledge signers. Eleven incumbent governors are pledge signers including Gov. Scott Walker (R-Wis.), Gov. Rick Scott (Fla.), Gov. Nikki Haley (S.C.), and Gov. Pat McCrory (N.C.).

Burgum is an entrepreneur and former CEO of Great Plains Software, purchased by Microsoft in 2001. Burgum has founded many successful businesses and in 2009 was awarded the Theodore Roosevelt Rough Rider Award, North Dakota’s highest honor, by then-Governor John Hoeven.

Burgum faces State Rep. Marvin Nelson (D) in the November election.