Pledge Signer and Hero of the Taxpayer award winner Rep. John Boehner (R-Ohio) wins House Majority Leader race.


WASHINGTON , D.C. –Today taxpayer advocate Rep. John Boehner of Ohio won the race for House Majority Leader against fellow pledge signers Roy Blunt of Missouri and John Shadegg of Arizona. Americans for Tax Reform welcomes Boehner as a leading advocate for tax reform and expects him to continue his record of voting for sound economic policy. Boehner has consistently won Americans for Tax Reform’s Hero of the Taxpayer award since taking office in 1990.

“I congratulate Congressman Boehner on being chosen to lead the Republican majority in the House of Representatives. I am confident that he will continue to fight against the taxes crippling our economy,” said Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform. “American taxpayers look forward to working hand-in-hand with Congressman Boehner to spur growth and protect their pocketbooks.”

Majority Leader Boehner is joined by President George W. Bush, 46 U.S. senators, and 222 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. At the state level, six governors and over 1,260 state legislators have signed the Pledge as well.

“America needs leaders like Majority Leader Boehner who are committed to protecting taxpayers, continued Norquist. “The future looks bright indeed for taxpayers with John Boehner leading the Republicans in the House.”