Taxpayer Protection Caucus Chair Offers California Taxpayers Hope.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – State Senator John Campbell, a Republican running for California’s 48th district special election, overwhelmingly appealed to voters using his anti-tax platform in the crowded seventeen-person race to capture 46% of the vote. Marilyn Brewer, another Republican Pledge-signer, took second place with 17%. The election was held to fill the vacancy left by Republican Congressman Chris Cox, who retired in August to become the Securities and Exchange Commission Chair. Because no candidate won 50%, a run-off will take place November 8.

State Sen. Campbell not only has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, he has served as Taxpayer Protection Caucus Chair in both the California state House and Senate. The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates."

ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, President George W. Bush, 46 U.S. senators, and 221 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, six Governors and over 1,260 state legislators have signed the Pledge as well.

“America needs leaders who are committed to protecting taxpayers, and signing our Pledge demonstrates that kind of leadership,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.

"Protecting taxpayers should be the first priority of any legislator, whether at the state or national level," Norquist continued. "Senator Campbell understands this important notion, and this is why he chooses to continue his leadership efforts to protect taxpayers’ wallets in the state of California.”