Mississippi Lieutenant Governor Tate Reeves, who is now running to be his state’s next governor, signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge this week. By signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, Tate Reeves has made a principled, written commitment to all Mississippi taxpayers that, if elected governor this November, he will oppose and veto any piece of legislation that would impose a net tax hike.

“Lt. Governor Tate Reeves has already established himself as one of the nation’s top champions for pro-growth tax relief and conservative reforms. By signing The Pledge to the Mississippi voters, Reeves makes it crystal clear that he will protect individuals, families, and employers across Mississippi from efforts to raise their tax burden if he is elected to be governor this fall” said Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform. “Tate Reeves is one of the most hardworking public servants in the country. Thanks to Reeves’ leadership, Mississippi taxpayers have received much-needed income tax relief and the franchise tax, an absurd tax on capital that very few states impose because it is so harmful to economic growth, is on the path to elimination.”

Americans for Tax Reform asks all candidates for state and federal office to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. Lt. Governor Reeves is the first and, as it stands, only candidate running for governor this year who has committed in writing to oppose any and all efforts to raise taxes on Mississippi families and employers.

“Lt. Governor Reeves’ leadership has already made Mississippi’s tax code more conducive to economic growth, job creation, and investment,” Norquist added. “Reeves’ has made it abundantly clear that he is respectful of taxpayers and recognizes what needs to be done to continue improving the Magnolia State’s tax and regulatory climate.”

Governor Phil Bryant and 10 other sitting governors are signers of the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, as are 47 U.S. Senators and 160 current members of the U.S. House of Representatives. Pledge signers include Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy, and House Minority Whip Steve Scalise.