Taxpayers from New Mexico’s 2nd Congressional district should be elated to hear that former Congressman Steve Pearce recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge for his 2010 race against Rep. Harry Teague. After an unsuccessful 2008 U.S. Senate bid, former Congressman Steve Pearce is looking to win back his old seat. According to his campaign website, one of the many reasons that Pearce decided to run again was Teague’s “allegiance to the liberal leadership over the working families of New Mexico.” 

According to ATR’s Congressional Ratings, Pearce had a lifetime rating of 97% and received the “Hero of the Taxpayer” award five times during his first stint in Congress.
The NRCC recently named Pearce a member of their “Young Guns” program giving him the status of “on the radar.” This particular status means that he’s obtained a certain threshold among the various benchmarks set forth by committee. The requirements include things such as raising a predetermined amount of money, hiring a minimum number of staffer, etc.
Rep. Harry Teague defeated Rancher Ed Tinsley to win the seat in 2008, 56-44. Charlie Cook rates this race a “toss up” and gives this district a PVI of R+6. Prior to Teague’s victory, Pearce routinely won this district with over 56% of the vote.  
To see ATR’s official statement on Pearce signing the Pledge, click “read more.”
Steve Pearce (R-N.M.) signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Congressional candidate promises to protect taxpayers’ wallets
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Steve Pearce, a Republican running in New Mexico’s 2nd Congressional seat, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”
ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, 34 U.S. senators and 172 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven Governors and over 1,100 state legislators have signed the Pledge.
“After the passage of the so-called “Stimulus Package,” better known as the Pelosi-Obama-Reid Spending Give-Away, Americans are desperately searching for candidates and politicians that will protect their livelihoods and put their wallets ahead of the federal government’s coffers,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.
“By signing the Pledge, Steve Pearce demonstrates that he understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers of New Mexico’s 2nd district.”
“I challenge all candidates for federal office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” Norquist continued.