WASHINGTON, D.C. – Every year the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project asks governors from all 50 states to make proclamations declaring February 6 “Ronald Reagan Day”.  This year will mark the 100th anniversary of late President Reagan’s birthday.  The Ronald Reagan Legacy Project proudly commends the governors — Republicans and Democrats alike — who have recognized February 6 as Ronald Reagan Day in their states.  Thus far, 21 out of 50 governors have issued proclamations.

“I urge every governor to issue a proclamation declaring ‘Ronald Reagan Day’ in their state,”said Grover Norquist, chairman of the RRLP.  “For those states currently without a proclamation, citizens are encouraged to contact their Governor.”

Governors who have issued a proclamation declaring “Ronald Reagan Day” in their state (21):

Arizona– Jan Brewer (R)

Maryland – Martin O’Malley (D) South Dakota– Dennis Daugaard (R)

Connecticut– Dan Malloy (D)

Mississippi– Haley Barbour (R) Texas– Rick Perry (R)

Hawaii– Linda Lingle* (R)

Nebraska– Dave Heineman (R)

Utah– Gary R. Herbert (R)

Idaho– Butch Otter (R)

Nevada– Brian Sandoval (R)

Virginia – Bob McDonnell (R)

Illinois– Pat Quinn (D)

New Hampshire– John Lynch (D) Washington – Christine Gregoire (D)

Indiana – Mitch Daniels (R)

New Mexico– Susana Martinez (R) West Virginia– Earl Ray Tomblin (D)

Louisiana– Bobby Jindal (R)

North Carolina– Bev Perdue (D) Wyoming– Matt Mead (R)

Governors who have not yet issued a proclamation (29):

Alabama– Robert Bentley (R)

Kentucky– Steve Beshear (D)

Ohio – John Kasich (R)

Alaska– Sean Parnell (R)

Maine– Paul LePage (R)

Oklahoma – Mary Fallin (R)

Arkansas– Mike Beebe (D)

Massachusetts– Deval Patrick (D)

Oregon – John Kitzhaber (D)

    California– Jerry Brown (D)

Michigan– Rick Snyder (R)

Pennsylvania – Tom Corbett (R)

Colorado– John Hickenlooper (D)

Minnesota – Mark Dayton (D)

Rhode Island – Lincoln Chafee (I)

Delaware– Jack Markell (D)

Missouri – Jay Nixon (D)

South Carolina – Nikki Haley (R)

Florida– Rick Scott (R)

Montana– Brian Schweitzer (D)

Tennessee – Bill Haslam (R)

Georgia – Nathan Deal (R)

New Jersey – Chris Christie (R)

Vermont – Peter Shumlin (D)

Iowa– Terry Branstad (R)

New York – Andy Cuomo (D)

Wisconsin – Scott Walker (R)

Kansas– Sam Brownback (R)

North Dakota – Jack Dalrymple (R)


*Asterisk denotes those who made a proclamation before leaving office

[Adobe PDF]