Dan Barry, Robert Pittenger, Jim Pendergraph, Mike Steinberg, Richard Lynch and Ken Leonczyk have become the first candidates to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in North Carolina's 9th Congressional District. Due to redistricting northern Mecklenburg County, southern Iredell County, and new precincts in northeastern Union County, are now included in this district.

The new district, rated by Cook Political Report and Stew Rothenberg as being a “safe” Republican seat, is in the southwest corner of North Carolina. The current incumbent Rep. Sue Myrick will be retiring after representing the district for nine terms.

Twelve GOP candidates have declared their candidacy in the 9th District, thus far. Other declared candidates include Charlotte City Councilman Andy Dulin, Financial Advisor Jon Gauthier, State Rep. Ric Killian, Ex-Charlotte City Councilman Edwin Peacock III, and Real Estate Broker Michael Shaffer.

By signing the Pledge, these candidates have committed to the taxpayers of North Carolina that they will “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”