## Coalition Letter in Favor of a Permanent Internet Tax Moratorium

Dear Senators,

On behalf of the undersigned, we encourage you to pass a clean permanent extension of the Internet Tax Moratorium, and commend the House of Representatives on passage of H.R. 3086, the Permanent Internet Tax Freedom Act (PITFA).

Senators John Thune (R-S.D.) and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) have introduced S. 1432, the Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act (ITFFA), which mirrors the House language. **Both ITFFA and PITFA reauthorize and make permanent legislation that has been U.S. national policy since 1998**. The clean Internet access tax moratorium overwhelmingly passed the House, and similarly a clean ITFFA will easily pass the Senate, and again protect unfettered access to Internet connections.

Americans would be overjoyed to see Congress agree, and pass, legislation that protects consumers from increased costs when accessing and using the Internet, and protects them from discriminatory or duplicative taxation of Internet commerce.

**Taxes on communications services are already punitive and discriminatory.** The average sales tax rate on voice services is 17 percent, and 12 percent on video services, while the average general sales tax rate is 7 percent. A clean ITFFA would at the very least prevent this targeted tax on Internet access.

Excessive taxes will hinder continued growth in the digital space. The FCC's National Broadband Plan states that the largest barrier to consumer adoption and expanded use of Internet based services is cost. Allowing the Internet access tax moratorium to lapse would certainly lead to higher tax rates on consumers and thus reduce the rate of adoption and innovation. The Internet is our greatest gateway to innovation and education, higher taxes on Internet access undermines American economic competiveness and growth.

We encourage the Senate to act now to permanently extend the Moratorium on Internet Access Taxes.

Sincerely,

Grover Norquist

Americans for Tax Reform

Katie McAuliffe Digital Liberty

Morgan Reed Executive Director

ACT | The App Association

Phil Kerpen President

American Commitment

Mac Zimmerman Director of Policy Americans for Prosperity

Steve Pociask President American Consumer Institute Center for Citizen Research Lisa B. Nelson

CEO

American Legislative Exchange Council

Diana Waterman

Chair

Annapolis, MD Center-Right Coalition

Chuck Muth President Citizen Outreach Mt. Reagan, Nevada

Eunie Smith President

Eagle Forum of Alabama

Norman Singleton VP of Policy

Campaign for Liberty

Brian Garst

Director of Government Affairs Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Timothy Lee

Senior Vice President of Legal and Public Affairs Center for Individual Freedoms

Clyde Wayne Crews Vice President for Policy Competitive Enterprise

Ryan Radia

Associate Director of Technology Studies

Competitive Enterprise

Thomas A. Schatz
President

Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Wayne Brough

Chief Economist and Vice President of Research

Freedom Works

George Landrith President

Frontiers of Freedom

William Estrada

Director of Federal Relations

Home School Legal Defense Association

Andrew Langer President

Institute for Liberty

Seton Motley President

Less Government

Bartlett Cleland Managing Director MaderyBridge

Mike Wendy Director MediaFreedom

Brandon Arnold Executive Vice President National Taxpayers Union

Steve DelBianco Executive Director NetChoice

Scott Cleland

Chairman NetCompetition President of Precursor LLC Christopher P. Finney, Esq. Finney Law Firm, LLC Cincinnati, Ohio

Richard Watson Co-Chair

Florida Center-Right Coalition

Stephen P. Gordon

President

Forward Focus Media, LLC

Atlanta, Georgia

Louie Hunter Director

Georgia Center Right Coalition

William Keli'i Akina, Ph.D.

President/CEO

Grassroot Institute of Hawi'i

Darcie L. Johnston

President

Johnston Consulting, Inc. Montpelier, Vermont

Marty Connors

M.J. Connors Consulting Government Relations Birmingham, Alabama

Jack Boyle

Co-Founder & President Put Growth First

Ohio

Charlie Gerow

**CEO** 

Quantum Communications Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Mike Stenhouse

CEO

Rhode Island Center for Freedom & Prosperity

John Colyandro Executive Direction

Texas Conservative Coalition

Research Institute

Paul Gessing Presidenet

Rio Grande Foundation

Lorenzo Montanari Executive Director Property Rights Alliance

Andrew Moylan Executive Director and Senior Fellow R Street Institute

David Williams President Taxpayers Protection Alliance Campaign for Liberty

Jason Pye Editor United Liberty