## 41 Conservative Groups Urge Support for Scalise/McKinley Anti-Carbon Tax Resolution





## AMERICANCOMMITMENT

















July 17, 2018

Dear Members of Congress:

The undersigned organizations urge you to vote for H.Con.Res 119, introduced by Majority Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.) and Congressman David McKinley (R-W.V.), which expresses the sense of the Congress that a carbon tax would be detrimental to the U.S. economy.

We oppose *any* carbon tax. We oppose a carbon tax because it would lead to less income and fewer jobs for American families.

For example, a 2014 Heritage Foundation report found that a \$37 per ton carbon tax would lead to a loss of more than \$2.5 trillion in aggregate gross domestic product by 2030. That is more than \$21,000 in income loss per family.

In addition, a carbon tax would cost over 500,000 jobs in manufacturing and more than one million jobs by 2030. According to a 2013 CBO report, a carbon tax is highly regressive.

After President Trump signed the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act into law on December 22, 2017, more than 90 percent of wage earners have had higher take-home pay.

At least 600 companies of all sizes have already announced special bonuses, pay raises, 401(k) match increases, tuition assistance, new training programs and other benefits for workers.

Thanks to the GOP tax cuts, utility companies are lowering rates, which means lower bills for consumers.

A carbon tax would reverse many of these successes.

We support the House Concurrent Resolution in opposition to a job-killing carbon tax and urge members to vote for this resolution.

Sincerely,

Grover Norquist President, Americans for Tax Reform

James L. Martin, Founder/Chairman Saulius "Saul" Anuzis, President 60 Plus Association

Phil Kerpen President, American Commitment



Matt Schlapp Chairman, American Conservative Union

President, American Energy Alliance

Center for Worker Freedom



Lisa B. Nelson CEO, ALEC Action

Brent Wm. Gardner

Tom Pyle

Norm Singleton President, Campaign for Liberty







\* \* \* FAMILY BUSINESSES FOR AFFORDABLE ENERGY





FREEDOM FOUNDATION OF MINNESOTA



Andrew F. Quinlan President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Chief Government Affairs Officer, Americans for Prosperity

Jeffrey Mazzella President, Center for Individual Freedom

Olivia Grady Senior Fellow, Center for Worker Freedom

David McIntosh President, Club for Growth

Kent Lassman President, Competitive Enterprise Institute

Matthew Kandrach President, Consumer Action for a Strong Economy

Thomas Schatz President, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste Katie McAuliffe Executive Director, Digital Liberty

Craig Richardson President, Energy & Environmental Legal Institute

Alex Ayers Executive Director, Family Business for Affordable Energy

Matt Kiibbe President, Free the People

Annette Meeks CEO, Freedom Foundation of Minnesota





**İndependent**<sup>®</sup> Women's Forum **İndependent**<sup>®</sup> Women's Voice









THE MAINE HERITAGE POLICY CENTER We the people of Maine...



Jason Pye Vice President of Legislative Affairs, FreedomWorks

George Landrith President, Frontiers of Freedom

Tim Huelskamp PhD President and CEO, The Heartland Institute

Mario H. Lopez President, Hispanic Leadership Fund

Amy Oliver Cooke Executive Vice President, Independence Institute

Carrie L. Lukas President, Independent Women's Forum

Heather R. Higgins CEO, Independent Women's Voice

Sal J. Nuzzo Vice President of Policy, The James Madison Institute

Becki Gray Senior Vice President, John Locke Foundation

Seton Motley President, Less Government

Matthew Gagnon Chief Executive Officer, Maine Heritage Policy Center

Brett Healy President, The MacIver Institute for Public Policy

Daniel J. Erspamer CEO, Pelican Institute for Public Policy

Lorenzo Montanari Executive Director, Property Rights Aliance

Mike Stenhouse CEO, Rhode Island Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Paul Gessing President, Rio Grande Foundation

David Williams President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance



Judson Phillips Founder, Tea Party Nation

RIO GRANDE FOUNDATION Michael W. Thompson President, Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy

Amy Kremer Co-Chair, Women for Trump

Becky Norton Dunlop Former Secretary of Natural Resources, Commonwealth of Virginia





Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy