Today, Senator Rand Paul (R-Ky.), a candidate for the presidency of the United States, signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge to the American people. 

Senator Paul is the first candidate for the 2016 Republican nomination to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge.

The pledge is a written commitment to the American people to “oppose and veto any and all efforts to increase taxes.”

ATR has shared the Pledge with all candidates for federal office since 1986. In the 114th Congress, 49 U.S. Senators and 218 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. On the state level, 13 incumbent governors and approximately 1,000 incumbent state legislators have signed the Pledge.

In 2012, all candidates for the Republican nomination for president signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, with the lone exception of former Utah Gov. Jon Huntsman.

Senator Paul signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge as a Senate candidate in the 2010 cycle and has kept his pledge to the people of Kentucky.

“By signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge to the American people, Senator Paul continues to protect American taxpayers against higher taxes,” said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform. “Senator Paul understands that government should be reformed so that it takes and spends less of the taxpayers’ money, and will oppose tax increases that paper over and continue the failures of the past.”