State Senator Dick Kelsey becomes the first candidate in the Republican primary to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in Kansas’ Fourth Congressional District. ATR strongly encourages all candidates in this race to make the same commitment to Taxpayers. Rep. Todd Tiahrt,  the current officeholder, is looking to replace retiring Sen. Sam Brownback as Kansas’  other U.S. Senator. 

It appears that whoever wins the GOP nomination will ultimately win the general election. Cook Political Report rates this district as "Likely R" with a PVI of R +14. Rep Tiahrt won his previous two elections with 64% of the vote in 2006 and 2008.
For ATR’s official statement on the Sen. Kelsey signing the Pledge, check below the fold.  
Dick Kelsey (R-Kan.) signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Congressional candidate promises to protect taxpayers’ wallets
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Dick Kelsey, a Republican running in Kansas’ 4th Congressional district, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”
ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, 34 U.S. senators and 172 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven Governors and over 1,100 state legislators have signed the Pledge.
“After the passage of the so-called “Stimulus Package,” better known as the Pelosi-Obama-Reid Spending Give-Away, Americans are desperately searching for candidates and politicians that will protect their livelihoods and put their wallets ahead of the federal government’s coffers ,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.
“By signing the Pledge, Dick Kelsey demonstrates that he understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers in Kansas’ 4th Congressional district.”
“I challenge all candidates for federal office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” Norquist continued.
For a pdf version of the release, click here