February 6th is celebrated throughout the nation as ‘Ronald Reagan Day’ in honor of his birthday.

This year, for the president’s 109th birthday, 28 governors from both sides of the aisle have proclaimed the day in their states. DC Mayor Muriel Bowser also honored Reagan today with a proclamation.

Reagan’s legacy is celebrated not only on February 6th, but year round via dedications both in the United States and abroad. Throughout the world, there are 170 dedications to the president: 151 in 34 different states, the District of Columbia, and American Samoa.

There are also 19 international dedications in nine countries including Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Bulgaria, Germany, England, Ireland, Grenada and the Republic of Georgia.

Planning is underway for a significant monument in Kiev, Ukraine.

The most recent dedication came in June 2019 in Berlin, as the site of the “Tear Down This Wall” speech was named the Ronald Reagan Terrace. A bronze life-sized statue was also erected in the terrace.

Founded by ATR president Grover Norquist in 1997, the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project is committed to preserving the legacy of the 40th President of the United States throughout the nation and abroad. The project encourages the naming of buildings, roads, landmarks, and schools after the late President, with a long-term goal of a dedication in every county in all 50 states.

“Reagan reduced the size and scope of government, cut taxes for all Americans, and laid the foundation for economic prosperity,” said Norquist. “By the time he left office, America was freer, safer, and stronger in every way. Reagan’s leadership had a resounding impact on the lives of citizens here at home and individuals worldwide.

The Ronald Reagan Legacy Project commends the following governors and mayors for honoring Reagan with proclamations today:

Alabama – Kay Ivey (R)
Alaska – Mike Dunleavy (R)
Arizona – Doug Ducey (R)
Arkansas – Asa Hutchinson (R)
California – Gavin Newsom (D)
Colorado – Jared Polis (D)
Georgia – Brian Kemp (R)
Idaho – Brad Little (R)
Indiana – Eric Holcomb (R)
Iowa – Kim Reynolds (R)
Maryland – Larry Hogan (R)
Massachusetts – Charlie Baker (R)
Mississippi – Tate Reeves (R)
Missouri – Mike Parson (R)
Nebraska – Pete Ricketts (R)
New Hampshire – Chris Sununu (R)
New Jersey – Phil Murphy (D)
North Dakota – Doug Burgum (R)
Ohio – Mike DeWine (R)
Oklahoma – Kevin Stitt (R)
South Carolina – Henry McMaster (R)
South Dakota – Kristi Noem (R)
Tennessee – Bill Lee (R)
Texas – Greg Abbott (R)
Utah – Gary Herbert (R)
Vermont – Phil Scott (R)
West Virginia – Jim Justice (R)
Wyoming – Mark Gordon (R)
Washington D.C. – Muriel Bowser (D)

If any readers have an idea for a new Reagan dedication, please contact Bailey Drouant at 202-785-0266 or [email protected].