Romney, Brownback Sign Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Presidential candidates begin new year with resolution to fight tax hikes.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Kansas Senator Sam Brownback (R) and Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney (R), candidates vying for the 2008 presidential nomination, have jumped out early in the new year and signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR).  The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates." 

Gov. Romney signed on December 31, 2006.  Sen. Brownback signed the pledge January 1, 2007.  

ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987.  To date, President George W. Bush, 43 U.S. senators, and 197 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge.  Seven Governors and over 1,300 state legislators have signed the Pledge as well.

“America needs leaders who are committed to protecting taxpayers, and signing our Pledge demonstrates that kind of leadership,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.

“By signing the Pledge, Sam Brownback and Mitt Romney demonstrate allegiance to hard-working taxpayers nationwide.  It is now up to the other candidates in the race to stand up to the challenge.”

“I strongly encourage every Presidential candidate to sign the Pledge,” Norquist continued.

Copies of the Pledge are available at or by calling (202) 785-0266.