Tax Limitation Amendment passes in House

WASHINGTON- On Wednesday April 25, a majority of House members voted in favor of the Tax Limitation Amendment, which provides that a 2/3rds majority be required for Congress to pass a tax increase.

The TLA received 232 "yea" votes and 189 "nay" votes. 204 Republicans and 27 Democrats voted for the bill while 11 Republicans and 177 Democrats voted against it.

Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform (ATR), a leading proponent of the TLA legislation, issued the following statement.

"This year, we had fewer Republicans (11) vote against the Tax Limitation Amendment than ever before. Moreover, except for last year, this was the most Democrats (27) who have voted in favor of the TLA. Clearly, there is broad bi-partisan support for the legislation proving that protecting taxpayers is paramount.

"ATR thanks those in Congress who had the courage to vote in favor of the TLA.

"In particular, we want to thank Rep. Pete Sessions, who led the way this year on the TLA legislation. In addition, we\’d like to thank the Democrats, who put the interests of their constituents before the interests of their party leaders by crossing the aisle and voting for this taxpayer friendly legislation, and the Republican leadership in the House for ensuring a vote on TLA took place.

"TLA is a vital protection for taxpayers against future tax increases. A simple majority vote to raise taxes is an invitation for politicians to do what they are too often prone to do: raise taxes. Four of the last five major tax increases passed Congress by less than a two-thirds supermajority.

"It is important to note that Americans for Tax Reform will likely double rate the vote on the Tax Limitation Amendment in our annual Congressional ratings because we feel that this legislation is of the utmost importance."