PDF Copy

Today, Americans for Tax Reform announced that Rep. John Adams (R-Sidney) will chair the Taxpayer Protection Caucus in the Ohio House of Representatives.

To join the caucus, legislators must be signers of the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, which is a written commitment to constituents and state residents to “oppose and vote against any and all efforts to increase taxes.” With the addition of Rep. Adams, there are now 45 Taxpayer Protection Caucuses in 33 states.  Every state (with the exception of unicameral Nebraska) will soon have both a Senate and House caucus consisting of all pledge signers in the legislature.

“John Adams has proved to be a fiscal watchdog and a leading advocate for Ohio taxpayers,”said Joshua Culling, Ohio state affairs manager for Americans for Tax Reform. “We’re glad to have Rep. Adams on board to fight for lower taxes and fees on Ohio families and employers, who deserve to keep more of their hard earned money.”

The Taxpayer Protection Caucuses provide a single voice on tax issues among pro-taxpayer legislators, and form entire bodies of legislators that believe in the same principle: no new taxes. Considering the budget battles states are facing across the country, taxes continue to be very high on the radar screen of voters and the media. Journalists will be able to go to the chair of the caucus for comments on tax issues.

“In recent years, policymakers in Columbus have pushed for higher and higher taxes, including Gov. Strickland’s income tax increase last December.  As a result, unemployment is on the perpetual rise and the state’s economy has been unable to recover,”added Culling.  “By chairing the Taxpayer Protection Caucus, John Adams has shown his commitment to helping stop this onerous, high-tax trend and get Ohio back on the path to prosperity.”