80 free market, conservative, and libertarian organizations and activists oppose President Trump’s recently signed “most favored nation” (MFN) executive order to impose foreign price controls on the medicines used by American seniors. 

Trump’s executive order will tie the prices we pay for medicines in Medicare Part B and Part D to the prices in foreign countries, most of which have government-set prices.

Signatories of the coalition letter include representatives from prominent national organizations as well as almost 30 states.

President Trump has repeatedly stood strong against the left’s calls for socialized medicine, even promising in the 2020 State of the Union Address that “we will never let socialism destroy American healthcare.” 

Unfortunately, an MFN policy would adopt these same socialist healthcare policies and threaten American medical innovation. As the letter notes: 

“Adopting these price controls will slow medical innovation, threaten American jobs, and undermine criticism of single-payer systems. In addition, a United States embrace of price controls will make it immeasurably more difficult to get foreign countries to pay their own way in the development of new medicines.”

An MFN policy would also threaten our COVID-19 response and exacerbate foreign freeloading off of American innovation. As the letter notes: 

“The U.S. is the best in the world when it comes to developing innovative, lifesaving and life preserving medicines. Because of this, the U.S. is leading the way when it comes to developing COVID-19 vaccines, with several promising candidates entering the final stages of testing and clinical trials.”

Rather than adopting price controls, the signatories urge President Trump to continue pushing policies that encourage American innovation like tax cuts and renegotiated trade deals:  

“As President, you have championed vital changes in tax and regulatory policies that have allowed free market innovation to flourish. We believe a market-based approach like those that your administration has consistently supported in other policy areas will lead to economic growth and promising new treatments but adopting price controls through the MFN plan would undermine rather than build on those successes.”

Click here to read the full letter.

Signatories of the coalition letter:

Grover Norquist
President, Americans for Tax Reform

Brent Wm. Gardner
Chief Government Affairs Officer, Americans for Prosperity

Joel White
President, Council for Affordable Health Coverage

Grace Marie-Turner      
President, Galen Institute (organization listed for affiliation purposes only)

Daniel Schneider
Executive Director, American Conservative Union

Lisa B. Nelson

Adam Brandon
President, FreedomWorks

Pete Sepp
President, National Taxpayers Union

Phil Kerpen
President, American Commitment

Thomas Schatz
President, Citizens Against Government Waste

Karen Kerrigan
President & CEO, Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council

David Williams
President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Saulius “Saul” Anuzis & Jim Martin
President, 60 Plus Association
Founder/Chairman, 60 Plus Association

Marty Connors
Leader, Alabama Center-Right Coalition 

Bethany Marcum
Executive Director, Alaska Policy Forum

Dee Stewart
President, Americans for a Balanced Budget

Richard Manning
President, Americans for Limited Government

Michael Bowman
President, ALEC Action

Kevin Waterman
Chair, Annapolis Center-Right Coalition Meeting (Maryland)

Robert Alt
President and CEO, The Buckeye Institute

Rabbi Aryeh Spero
President, Caucus for America

Ryan Ellis
President, Center for a Free Economy 

Andrew F. Quinlan
President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity 

Jeffrey Mazzella
President, Center for Individual Freedom

Ginevra Joyce-Myers
Executive Director, Center for Innovation and Free Enterprise

Peter Pitts
President, Center for Medicine in the Public Interest

John Hinderaker
President, Center of the American Experiment

Leo Knepper
CEO, Citizens Alliance of Pennsylvania

Donald Bryson 
President & CEO, Civitas Institute

Regina Thomson
President, Colorado Issues Coalition

Gregory Conko
Senior Fellow, Competitive Enterprise Institute

James Edwards
Executive Director, Conservatives for Property Rights 

Matthew Kandrach
President, Consumer Action for a Strong Economy 

Fred Roeder
Health Economist/Managing Director, Consumer Choice Center

Yaël Ossowski
Deputy Director, Consumer Choice Center

Katie McAuliffe
Executive Director, Digital Liberty

Robert Roper
President, Ethan Allen Institute

Annette Meeks
CEO, Freedom Foundation of Minnesota           

George Landrith
President, Frontiers of Freedom

Ray Chadwick
Chairman, Granite State Taxpayers

Naomi Lopez
Director of Healthcare Policy, Goldwater Institute

Mario H. Lopez 
President, Hispanic Leadership Fund

Carrie Lukas
President, Independent Women’s Forum

Heather R. Higgins
CEO, Independent Women’s Voice

Andrew Langer
President, Institute for Liberty

Tom Giovanetti
President, Institute for Policy Innovation

Sal Nuzzo
Vice President of Policy, James Madison Institute

Amy Oliver Cooke
CEO, John Locke Foundation

Drew Cline
President, Josiah Bartlett Center for Public Policy

Seton Motley
President, Less Government

Jay Fisher
Immediate Past Chairman, Lisle Township Republican Organization

Doug McCullough
Director, Lone Star Policy Institute

Lindsay Killen 
Vice President for Strategic Outreach, Mackinac Center for Public Policy

Brett Healy
President, The John K. MacIver Institute for Public Policy 

Matt Gagnon
President, Maine Policy Institute

Charles Sauer
President, Market Institute

Dee Hodges
President, Maryland Taxpayers Association, Inc

Gene Clem
Spokesman, Michigan Tea Party Alliance

Jameson Taylor, Ph.D.
Vice President for Policy, Mississippi Center for Public Policy

Tim Jones
Chair, Missouri Center-Right Coalition
Fmr. Speaker, Missouri House

David A. Ridenour 
President, National Center for Public Policy Research

Everett Wilkinson
Chairman, National Liberty Federation

John Tsarpalas
President, Nevada Policy Research Institute

Scott Pullins
Founder, Ohio Taxpayers Association

Doug Kellogg
Executive Director, Ohioans for Tax Reform

Sally Pipes
President and CEO, Pacific Research Institute

Ellen Weaver
President & CEO, Palmetto Promise Institute

Daniel Erspamer
Chief Executive Officer, Pelican Institute for Public Policy

Ed Martin
President, Phyllis Schlafly Eagles

Lorenzo Montanari 
Executive Director, Property Rights Alliance

Stone Washington
Member, Project 21

Paul J. Gessing
President, Rio Grande Foundation

Bette Grande
President & CEO, Roughrider Policy Center

James L. Setterlund
Executive Director, Shareholder Advocacy Forum

Paul E. Vallely, Major General, US Army (ret)
Chairman, Stand Up America US Foundation 

Richard Watson 
Chair, Tallahassee Center-Right Coalition

Sara Croom
Executive Director, Trade Alliance to Promote Prosperity

C. Preston Noell III
President, Tradition, Family, Property, Inc. 

Lynn Taylor
President, Virginia Institute for Public Policy