Have They Forgotten Their Promise to Taxpayers?

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) reminds the following legislators that they signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge and thereby promised to "oppose and vote against any and all efforts to increase taxes." As the Legislature considers a $5/ton waste tax increase, ATR encourages these pledge signers to keep their pledge:

  • H. Russell Potts, Jr. (S-27)
  • Allen Louderback (H-15)
  • John J. Welch, III (H-21)
  • L. Preston Bryant, Jr. (H-23)
  • Vincent F. Callahan, Fr. (H-34)
  • David Albo (H-42)
  • Frank D. Hargrove, Sr. (H-55)
  • M. Kirkland Cox (H-66)
  • Terrie L. Suit (H-81)
  • Robert F. McDonnell (H-84)

"It has come to my attention that these legislators may be considering whether to break their Taxpayer Protection Pledges," said Emily Sedgwick, State Projects Manager at ATR. "I strongly encourage them to keep their pledges. The pledge is relevant to all attempts to increase taxes, well publicized or not."