Following the September 24 GOP primary for Alabama-01, Bradley Byrne and Dean Young were forced into a runoff.  Six weeks later, Bradley Byrne defeated Young, 52.5-percent to 47.5-percent.

Byrne, a former state senator and former 2010 gubernatorial candidate, will face off against Democrat Burton LeFlore in the December 17 special election to fill the seat vacated by Rep. Jo Bonner (R).

Americans for Tax Reform would like to congratulate Byrne on his victory in Tuesday’s runoff. By signing ATR’s Taxpayer Protection Pledge, Byrne has committed to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates."

“I would like to congratulate Mr. Byrne on his victory in the Republican runoff for Alabama’s first district Congressional seat. The taxpayers of Alabama’s first Congressional district can rest assured that Mr. Byrne will fight for fiscal responsibility and against the ever increasing tax burden on American families,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.

“I challenge Mr. Byrne’s Democratic opponent, Burton LeFlore, to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge to the voters today,” Norquist continued.

The Cook Political Report rates the Alabama-01 race as “solid Republican” with a partisan voter index of Republican+15. It is worth noting that the district’s congressional seat has been controlled by Republicans since 1964.