As primary voters head to the voting booths in Colorado, Illinois, New York, Oklahoma, and Utah, they deserve to know where their congressional and state candidates stand on vital pocketbook issues such as taxes and spending. Candidates often campaign in opposition to higher taxes, but disregard campaign promises once they take office.

Fortunately for taxpayers in these states, numerous candidates have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, which is a written commitment to oppose and vote against all income tax hikes.

The following candidates signed the Pledge:


  • U.S. House
    • Ken Buck (Incumbent, CO-04)
    • Doug Lamborn (CO-05)
    • Dave Williams (CO-05)
    • Barbara Kirkmeyer (CO-08)
    • Tyler Allcorn (CO-08)
    • Jan Kulmann (CO-08)
  • U.S. Senate
    • Joe O’Dea
  • State House
    • Dan Woog (Incumbent, SH-19)
    • Karl Dent (SH-21)
    • Colin Larson (Incumbent, SH-25)
    • John Caldwell (SH-49)
    • Austin Hein (SH-51)
    • Rod Bockenfeld (Incumbent, SH-56)
    • Stephanie Luck (Incumbent, SH-60)


  • U.S. House
    • Scott Kaspar (IL-06)
    • Catalina Lauf (IL-11)
    • Jim Marter (IL-14)
    • Rodney Davis (Incumbent, IL-15)
    • Mary Miller (IL-15)
    • Darin LaHood (IL-16)
  • State House
    • Brad Stephens (Incumbent, SH-20)
    • Matthew Schultz (SH-21)
    • Joe Sosnowski (Incumbent, SH-69)
    • Adam Niemerg (Incumbent, SH-102)
  • State Senate
    • Eli Nicolosi (SS-35)
    • Dave Syverson (Incumbent, SS-35)
    • Sue Rezin (Incumbent, SS-38)

New York

  • State House
    • Fred Thiele (Incumbent, SH-1)
    • Jodi Giglio (Incumbent, SH-2)
    • Joseph DeStafano (Incumbent, SH-3)
    • Keith Brown (Incumbent, SH-12)
    • Karl Brabenec (Incumbent, SH-98)
    • David DiPietro (Incumbent, SH-147)


  • U.S. House
    • Kevin Hern (Incumbent, OK-01)
    • David Derby (OK-02)
    • Johnny Teehee (OK-02)
    • Josh Brecheen (OK-02)
    • Marty Quinn (OK-02)
    • Chris Schiller (OK-02)
    • Frank Lucas (Incumbent, OK-03)
    • Tom Cole (Incumbent, OK-04)
    • Stephanie Bise (Incumbent, OK-05)
  • U.S. Senate
    • Alex Gray
    • Luke Holland
    • Jim Inhofe
    • Randy Grellner
    • James Lankford
  • State House
    • Kevin West (Incumbent, SH-54)
    • Chris Kannady (Incumbent, SH-91)


  • U.S. House
    • Blake Moore (Incumbent, UT-01)
    • John Curtis (Incumbent, UT-02)
    • Burgess Owens (Incumbent, UT-04)
  • U.S. Senate
    • Mike Lee
  • State House
    • Michael Petersen (Incumbent, SH-2)
    • Jason Kyle (SH-8)
    • Karianne Lisonbee (Incumbent, SH-14)
    • Lyle Mason (SH-19)
    • Jordan Teuscher (Incumbent, SH-44)
    • Carolyn Phippen (SH-46)
    • Tom Hansen (SH-67)
    • Carl Albrecht (Incumbent, SH-70)

There are currently 180 Pledge signers in the U.S. House and 44 Pledge signers in the U.S. Senate. 85% percent of all congressional Republicans have made the written commitment to oppose higher taxes. In contrast, ZERO congressional Democrats have made that promise.

In President Biden’s first year, he championed a multi-trillion tax and spend bill, which includes the largest tax increase since 1968. These tax hikes would disproportionately hurt workers, retirees, consumers, and small businesses. Taxpayers should expect more of the same for the remainder of his presidency. 

“Voters have a right to know where candidates stand on taxes before heading to the voting booth,” added Norquist. “The Taxpayer Protection Pledge is a simple litmus test that tells voters I’ll work to protect your wallet. I encourage all candidates for elected office to make this commitment today.”  

New candidates sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge regularly. For the most up-to-date information on this race or any other, please visit the ATR Pledge Database