The Digital GAP Act, H.R. 5537, introduced by Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee Ed Royce, Republican Conference Chairman Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Ranking Member Eliot Engel and Rep. Grace Meng, passed out of the Foreign Affairs Committee on voice vote.

The following can be attributed to Americans For Tax Reform President, Grover Norquist:

“Passing the Digital Gap act would build on the success of the Electrify Africa Act passed last year.  The “Dig Once” policies, promoted in the Digital Gap Act, make sense in Africa and also in the United States of America.  When we export good ideas we should also use them ourselves at home.  The Digital Gap Act will increase the value of U.S. international aid contributions without increasing the burden on taxpayers.”