[PDF Version]

Former U.S. Senator Alan Simpson, the co-chairman of President Obama’s fiscal reform commission, has invited Americans for Tax Reform president Grover Norquist to appear before the commission during its public hearing on the afternoon of June 30.  As reported in National Journal, Simpson said:

"We're notifying everybody in America, if you want to come in, don't come in to bitch. Come in and tell us what you would do to get where we are trying to get. We're going to sit here from 1 (p.m.), grab a sandwich, and go until midnight.I want to particularly ask Grover Norquist, what is it you want to do? Other than just raise money and get members, what have you got in mind to help America proceed, other than say anybody that talks about raising taxes will be cremated and crucified on a stake?"

Norquist accepts the invitation and has submitted application details per the Commission’s website, www.FiscalCommission.gov.

The Commission is formally known as the National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform, and will conclude its work no later than December 1.  Simpson serves as co-chairman along with Erskine Bowles, Chief of Staff to President Bill Clinton.  Bruce Reed, Chief Domestic Policy Adviser to President Clinton, serves as Executive Director.

The full list of Commissioners is as follows:

Sen. Max Baucus (D-Mont.)

Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-Calif.)

Rep. Dave Camp (R-Mich.)

Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.)

Sen. Kent Conrad (D-N.D.)

David Cote, Chairman and CEO, Honeywell International

Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho)

Sen. Richard Durbin (D-Ill.)

Ann Fudge, Former CEO, Young & Rubicam Brands

Sen. Judd Gregg (R-N.H.)

Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas)

Alice Rivlin, Senior Fellow, Brookings Institute and former Director, Office of Management & Budget

Rep. Paul Ryan (R-Wis.)

Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.)

Rep. John Spratt (D-S.C.)

Andrew Stern, former President, Service Employees International Union