WASHINGTON – Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) applauds efforts by numerous Montana Legislators to sustain Governor Judy Martz\’s veto of any and all tax increases. The following thirty-eight members of the Legislature signed a letter promising "to uphold the Governor\’s veto of any tax increases:"

Joe Balyeat
Dave Lewis
Jeff Pattison
Dave Kasten
Scott Sales
John Sinrud
Rick Maedje
Verdell Jackson
Ron Stoker
Pat Wagman
Joan Anderson
Michael Lange
George Everett
Edith Clark
Allen Rome
Don Steinbeisser
Jim Shockley
Dan Fuchs
Penny Morgan
Scott Mendenhall
John Witt
Roy Brown
Doug Mood
Bob Lake
Stan Fisher
Debby Barrett
Bruce Malcolm
Jeff Lazloffy
Clarice Schrumpf
Larry Lehman
Diane Rice
Carol Lambert
Don Roberts
Sylvia Bookout-Reinicke
Dan Hurwitz
John Brueggeman
Don Hedges
Jack Ross
Pat Wagman

By continuing to veto tax increase proposals, Gov. Martz upholds her Taxpayer Protection Pledge to "oppose and veto any and all efforts to increase taxes." Gov. Martz signed the Pledge on January 10, 2000.

Tax increase proposals in Montana include, among others:

· Gross receipts taxes on "big box stores" that gross $10 million or more annually
· 4% sales tax increase
· SB 407 to cut income taxes but hike other taxes including drinks, rental cars, recreation, lodging, and tobacco by a greater amount
· Soda pop tax increase of 5 cents per pop bottle