U.S. Representative Greg Gianforte (R-Mont.) signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge last Thursday in his bid to become Montana’s next governor. By signing the Pledge, Gianforte has made a clear, written commitment to hardworking Montana taxpayers that if elected, he will “oppose and veto any and all efforts to increase taxes.” 

“I want to congratulate Rep. Gianforte for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge to Montana. Montana voters know that they will have an ally in the governor’s mansion—who understands that government should be reformed in a way so that it spends and takes less taxpayer dollars and will oppose tax increases that prolong failures of the past.”

This is not the first time that Representative Gianforte has made clear his commitment to safeguard Montanans from higher taxes. He first signed the Pledge in his 2016 race for Montana governor. Although he lost, he reaffirmed his written commitment on the campaign trail the following year in his run for congress and won the 2017 special election.

While in office, Gianforte has remained true to his Pledge and worked with President Trump to pass the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. Now Rep. Gianforte is the first candidate in the 2020 gubernatorial race to have made this commitment.

Americans for Tax Reform offers the Taxpayer Protection Pledge to all candidates for state and federal office. In the 116th Congress, 47 U.S. Senators and 160 members of the U.S. House of Representatives are pledge signers. Pledge signers include Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy, and House Minority Whip Steve Scalise. Joining them in signing the Pledge are 11 incumbent governors and nearly 1,000 state legislators across the country.

ATR will continue to follow this race closely and will provide additional updates as more candidates sign the Pledge. 

Montana Attorney General Tim Fox is the second candidate in the 2020 gubernatorial race to have signed the Pledge.*

*updated on Jan. 7, 2020