Mike Huckabee Signs Presidential Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Governor promises to protect the wallets of American taxpayers

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Governor Mike Huckabee (R-AR), who is seeking the 2008 Republican Presidential nomination, signed the Presidential Taxpayer Protection Pledge on Friday, March 2nd during the Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC), making it a key feature of his speech.

The Pledge binds signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates." 

ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987.  Every Republican nominee for President since 1988 has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. To date, President George W. Bush, 43 U.S. Senators, and 196 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Seven Governors and over 1,100 state legislators have signed the Pledge as well.

"We applaud Gov. Huckabee for signing the Presidential Taxpayer Protection Pledge. Gov. Huckabee recognizes that the challenge is to rein in spending and reduce taxes," said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.

“I continue to encourage every Presidential candidate to show their commitment to the U.S. taxpayer by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge,” Norquist continued.

Gov. Huckabee joins Gov. Mitt Romney, U.S. Sen. Sam Brownback, Rep. Duncan Hunter, Gov. Jim Gilmore, and Rep. Tom Tancredo as other presidential candidates to sign the Presidential Pledge for the 2008 Presidential Campaign.

Copies of the Pledge are available at www.atr.org or by calling (202) 785-0266.