The Taxpayer Protection Pledge, sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform, is the best way for candidates to show their commitment to taxpayers

WASHINGTON D.C. – Taxes are a prominent issue in Michigan, as voters demonstrated at the polls yesterday. Senatorial candidate Andrew Raczkowski and Congressional candidates Candice Miller (10th) and Thad McCotter (11th) won their respective primaries after signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge.

The Pledge states that a candidate will "oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates." The Pledge was sent to candidates in every state and federal race in Michigan and has been signed by President George W. Bush, 239 members of the U.S. House and Senate, 8 Governors and over 1,200 state and local officials nationwide.

"Signing the Pledge is the best way for a candidate to take the side of the taxpayer in an election," said taxpayer advocate Grover Norquist, who heads ATR in Washington. "A candidates\’ refusal to sign the Pledge demonstrates a willingness to raise taxes. Candidates who sign should be commended for making a principled commitment to opposing future tax increases."

Grover Norquist established ATR in 1985 to generate popular support for President Reagan\’s Tax Reform Act of 1986, which radically simplified the nation\’s tax code. The group evolved to become one of the most influential advocacy groups in Washington, opposing all tax increases at the federal, state and local levels as a matter of principle. ATR supports a tax structure where taxes are simpler, fairer, flatter, more visible and lower than they are today.