Image of Americans for Tax Reform applauding Matt Dolan for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge for his Ohio U.S. Senate race

Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) commends Matt Dolan for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in the race for the U.S. Senate in Ohio, making the written commitment to Ohio voters that he will oppose all tax increases. 

A state senator and Senate Finance Committee Chair, Dolan is the first challenger to sitting U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown to sign the pledge this cycle. 

“Senator Dolan has made reducing burdens on Ohio taxpayers and small businesses his priority in the state senate, and continues that record by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge,” said Americans for Tax Reform President Grover Norquist. “This public, written commitment to oppose tax hikes should give Ohioans confidence Matt Dolan will defend them from the unhinged tax-and-spend spree driven by President Biden and Congressional Democrats.” 

The Taxpayer Protection Pledge was created in 1985 by Americans for Tax Reform as a way to solidify candidates’ commitments to taxpayers. President Reagan urged all candidates to sign the Pledge. He campaigned for and praised candidates who signed the Pledge.

There are currently 189 Pledge signers in the U.S. House — including Speaker Kevin McCarthy and Majority Leader Steve Scalise — and 42 Pledge signers in the U.S. Senate including Leader Mitch McConnell. 85% of Congressional Republicans have signed The Pledge and put their commitment to oppose tax increases into writing, contrasting the ZERO congressional Democrats who have made this commitment. 

For more information on the Taxpayer Protection Pledge visit