Map Of States With Delayed Tax Filing Deadlines

Submitted by pgleason on Tuesday, March 24th, 2020, 4,50 PM

The Internal Revenue Service recently announced that the upcoming federal income tax filing deadline is moved from April 15 to July 15, 2020.

“Taxpayers can also defer federal income tax payments due on April 15, 2020, to July 15, 2020, without penalties and interest, regardless of the amount owed,” explains a March 21 statement released by the IRS. “This deferment applies to all taxpayers, including individuals, trusts and estates, corporations and other non-corporate tax filers as well as those who pay self-employment tax.”

Now state government officials across the U.S. are taking action to delay their tax filing deadlines in order to sync up with the extended federal deadline, which will help avoid taxpayer confusion and also increase household and small business liquidity at time of economic uncertainty.

The 25 states shaded green on the above map have moved their filing deadline to the same as the new federal deadline of July 15. The six states colored yellow have delayed their filing deadlines but, to an extended date that is different than the new federal deadline of July 15. The extended dates for those six states are:

Hawaii - July 20

Idaho - June 20

Iowa - July 31

Maryland - June 1

Mississippi - May 31

Virginia - June 1

In the seven states with no income tax, shaded gray, this issue is moot. 12 states, shaded blue in the map above, have yet to take action on the matter. These include: Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Maine, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, West Virginia, and Tennessee.