In her campaign to be the next governor of Maine, Mary Mayhew has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, a written commitment to Maine taxpayers to “oppose and veto any and all efforts to increase taxes.”

Maine’s Republican and Democratic gubernatorial primary elections will be decided this coming Tuesday, June 12th. Mayhew is the first and only candidate in the race thus far to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge and in doing so, promise to voters to reject all efforts to raise taxes on Mainers.

“I applaud Mary Mayhew for making this principled commitment to hardworking Maine families,” said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform. “By making this important pledge to Maine taxpayers, voters know they have a candidate for governor in Mary Mayhew who will not raid taxpayer bank accounts if elected. Rather than raise taxes, Mayhew has made clear she’ll instead pursue reforms that make state government more efficient and less costly to taxpayers.”

Americans for Tax Reform offers the Pledge to all candidates for state and federal office. In the 115th Congress, 46 U.S. Senators and 209 members of the U.S. House of Representatives are pledge signers. Pledge signers include Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, House Speaker Paul D. Ryan, House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, House Majority Whip Steve Scalise, and GOP Conference Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers. Senate Finance Committee Chairman Orrin Hatch and House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Kevin Brady are also pledge signers. On the state level, the Taxpayer Protection Pledge has been signed by 11 incumbent governors including Gov. Scott Walker (R-Wis.), Gov. Rick Scott (Fla.), and Gov. Paul LePage (M.E.), and nearly 1,000 state legislators across the country.