Ohio Lt. Gov. Mary Taylor has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, a written commitment to state taxpayers to “oppose and veto any and all efforts to increase taxes,” in her bid to become Ohio’s next governor. Taylor is the first candidate in the race to sign the Pledge.

“Along with Governor Kasich, Taylor led the fight for significant tax reductions,” said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform. “By signing the Pledge she’s made the commitment that she’ll veto any tax increase, so Ohioans can go to work safe in the knowledge they won’t face tax hikes down the road.”
Lt. Gov. Taylor’s record is one of protecting taxpayers. Under Gov. Kasich and Lt. Gov. Taylor’s leadership, lawmakers took courageous steps to enact bold reforms that provided $5 billion in tax relief for Ohioans and brought an estimated 460,000 jobs back to the Buckeye State.

Prior to serving as lieutenant governor, Taylor served as Ohio State Auditor from 2007-2011 and was a member of the Ohio House of Representatives from 2003-2006.
In signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, Lt. Gov. Taylor makes clear her commitment to hardworking Ohio taxpayers. Her primary opponent Atty. Gen. Mike DeWine has not signed the Pledge.
“When Mike DeWine was in the Senate, he refused to make the commitment to not raise taxes, a commitment made by 90 percent of Republicans in Congress,” said Norquist.

“As Senator, he was not a principled opponent of higher taxes. It’s disappointing that he wants to be governor at a time when other states are leading the way by cutting taxes, and he wants to leave the door open to raise burdens on Ohioans,” Norquist continued.

Americans for Tax Reform offers the Pledge to all candidates for state and federal office. In the 115th Congress, 46 U.S. Senators and 209 members of the U.S. House of Representatives are pledge signers. Pledge signers include Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, House Speaker Paul D. Ryan, House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, House Majority Whip Steve Scalise, and GOP Conference Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers. Senate Finance Committee Chairman Orrin Hatch and House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Kevin Brady are also pledge signers.

On the state level, this commitment is shared by 11 incumbent governors including Gov. Scott Walker (R-Wis.), Gov. Rick Scott (Fla.), and Gov. Paul LePage (M.E.), and nearly 1,000 state legislators across the country.

Ohio’s primary election is May 8.