California businessman and congressional candidate John Dennis recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in his bid for California’s 8th district. Dennis will be competing in the GOP Primary, being held on June 8th for the chance to take on Democratic Incumbent and House Speaker Nancy Pelosi. The winner of the primary has a unique opportunity to directly challenge the policies of the current majority, which have been deeply troublesome for taxpayers and their advocates. The Pelosi-Obama-Reid agenda has included the passage of a failed “stimulus”; a proposed “cap-and-trade” system which will kill jobs all across the country; and the recent (and strictly partisan) passage of a health care bill soaked with special deals and tax increases that will cost the taxpayers hundreds of billions of dollars. This race provides a venue to directly debate what policies are beneficial to taxpayers everywhere.
By signing the pledge, John Dennis joins hundreds of challengers in making clear to the taxpayers in the 8th district that he will be fighting for them if elected. ATR continues to reach out to candidates in California, and all other states to encourage those running to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, and make that same promise.
The full statement from ATR on John Dennis can be read below
John Dennis (R-Calif.) Signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Congressional candidate promises to protect taxpayers’ wallets
WASHINGTON, D.C. – John Dennis, a Republican running in California’s 8th Congressional district, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”
ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, 34 U.S. senators and 172 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven Governors and over 1,100 state legislators have signed the Pledge.
“After the passage of the so-called “Stimulus Package,” better known as the Pelosi-Obama-Reid Spending Give-Away, Americans are desperately searching for candidates and politicians that will protect their livelihoods and put their wallets ahead of the federal government’s coffers,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.
“By signing the Pledge, John Dennis demonstrates that he understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers in California’s 8th Congressional district.”
“I challenge all candidates for federal office to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” Norquist continued