Republican Jim Tedisco became the first major candidate to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in the NY-20 special election. He is running against Democrat Scott Murphy to replace the new U.S. Senator from New York, Kirsten Gillibrand. Internal polling by the Tedisco for Congress campaign found that Jim Tedisco currently leads Murphy 50 to 29 percent.

Click "read more" to see the full release.

Jim Tedisco (R-N.Y.) signs the Taxpayer Protection Pledge
Congressional candidate promises to protect taxpayers’ wallets
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Jim Tedisco, the Republican running in the special election for New York’s 20th Congressional seat, recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge sponsored by Americans for Tax Reform (ATR). The Pledge commits signers to “oppose any and all efforts to increase the marginal income tax rates for individuals and/or businesses … and oppose any net reduction or elimination of deductions and credits, unless matched dollar for dollar by further reducing tax rates.”
ATR has offered the Pledge to all candidates for federal office since 1987. To date, 35 U.S. senators and 172 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have signed the Pledge. Additionally, seven Governors and over 1,100 state legislators have signed the Pledge.
“After the passage of the so-called “Stimulus Package,” better known as the Pelosi-Obama-Reid Spending Give -Away, Americans are desperately searching for candidates and politicians that will protect their livelihoods and put their wallets ahead of the federal government’s coffers ,” said Grover Norquist, president of ATR.
“By signing the Pledge, Jim Tedisco demonstrates that he understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers of New York’s 20th district. New Yorkers have one of the highest combined income tax rates of any state in the U.S.”
“I challenge Scott Murphy to show the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” Norquist continued.
Copies of the Pledge are available at or by calling (202) 785-0266.