Editor’s Note: Several candidates have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in this congressional race. For the most up-to-date information, please visit the Pledge database here.

Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) congratulates congressional candidate Jim Oberweis for signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, which is a written commitment to the people of Illinois to oppose income tax increases.  

Oberweis joins Rep. Shimkus, Rep. Kinzinger, and Rep. LaHood in making this commitment to Illinois taxpayers. Oberweis signed the state Taxpayer Protection Pledge his current position as state e senator and now reaffirms his “no new taxes” promise for federal office.  

“The American people are tired of the tax-and-spend policies coming from Washington and they are looking for solutions that create jobs, cut government spending, and grow the economy. Signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge and holding the line on taxes is the first step in that process,” said Grover Norquist, President of Americans for Tax Reform. 

Candidates running for public office like to say they will not raise taxes, but often turn their backs on the taxpayer once elected. The idea of the Taxpayer Protection Pledge is simple enough: Make them put their no-new-taxes rhetoric in writing. It is offered to every candidate for state and federal office and to all incumbents. Nearly 1,400 elected officials have signed the Pledge. 

“We are ecstatic about Mr. Oberweis’ commitment to the taxpayers of Illinois. I challenge all remaining candidates for Illinois’ 14th Congressional District to make the same commitment to taxpayers by signing the Taxpayer Protection Pledge today,” continued Norquist.