The Fair Tax isn’t happening and won’t survive regular order, despite assertions from Democrats like Chuck Schumer and President Biden.

In fact, House co-sponsorship of the Fair Tax Act is at a 20-year low. Support has been dwindling for the past decade, dropping by two-thirds since 2013. See the chart below.

There are only 25 co-sponsors in this congress, down from 30 in the previous congress.

Five incumbent members who co-sponsored in the 117th Congress are NOT co-sponsoring in the 118th Congress: Scott DesJarlais (Tenn.); Tom Emmer (Minn.); Frank Lucas (Okla.); Michael Waltz (Fla.); Robert Wittman (Va.).

Chart of the number of Cosponsors of the Fairfax in the U.S. House