Every year the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project sends requests to governors from all 50 states to issue a proclamation declaring February 6 "Ronald Reagan Day." On Reagan's 103rd birthday, 37 states — eight with Democrat governors — have signed proclamations honoring the late president.
The Ronald Reagan Legacy Project was founded in 1997 and is committed to preserving the legacy of the 40th President of the United States. The Project also works to encourage the naming of landmarks, buildings, schools, and roads after President Reagan. There are currently 108 domestic dedications in 28 states, and 14 international dedications in seven countries
The most recent domestic dedication iniative is in Nevada where Chuck Muth's Mount Reagan Project is leading an effort to name a mountain peak after the late president. 
Grover Norquist, founder and chairman of the RRLP, had this to say about the late President: "Ronald Reagan led America forward to defeat the threats to our prosperity of high taxes, inflation, and recession at home and a surging Soviet Empire abroad.  He left America stronger, freer, and safer than the day he became President."


The following 37 Governors have issued proclamations declaring today as Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

Alabama- Robert Bentley (R)

Alaska- Sean Parnell (R)

Arizona- Jan Brewer (R)

California – Jerry Brown (D)

Colorado- John Hickenlooper (D)

Florida- Rick Scott (R)

Georgia- Nathan Deal (R)

Idaho- Butch Otter (R)

Illinois- Pat Quinn (D)

Indiana- Mike Pence (R)

Iowa- Terry Brandstad (R)

Kansas- Sam Brownback (R)

Louisiana- Bobby Jindal (R)

Maine- Paul LePage

Maryland- Martin O'Malley (D)

Michigan- Rick Snyder (R)

Mississippi- Phil Bryant (R)

Montana- Steve Bullock (D)

Nebraska- Dave Heineman (R)

Nevada- Brian Sandoval (R)

New Hampshire- Maggie Hassan (D)

New Jersey- Chris Christie (R)

New Mexico- Susana Martinez (R)

New York- Andrew Cuomo (D)

North Carolina- Pat McCrory (R)

North Dakota- Jack Dalrymple (R)

Ohio- John Kasich (R)

Oklahoma- Mary Fallin (R)

Pennsylvania- Tom Corbett (R)

South Carolina- Nikki Haley (R)

Tennessee- Bill Haslam (R)

Texas- Rick Perry (R)

Utah- Gary Herbert (R)

West Virginia- Earl Ray Tomblin (D)

Wisconsin- Scott Walker (R)

Wyoming- Matt Mead (R)


There are 13 governors who have refused to issue a proclamation declaring Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

Arkansas- Mike Beebe (D)

Connecticut- Dan Malloy (D)

Delaware- Jack Markell (D)

Hawaii- Neil Abercrombie (D)

Kentucky- Steve Beshear (D)

Massachusetts- Deval Patrick (D)

Minnesota- Mark Dayton (D)

Missouri- Jay Nixon (D)

Oregon- John Kitzhaber (D)

Rhode Island- Lincoln Chafee (D)

Vermont- Peter Shumlin (D)

Virginia- Terry McAuliffe (D)

Washington- Jay Inslee (D)