Ronald Reagan

Each year the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project sends requests to governors from all 50 states to issue a proclamation declaring February 6 “Ronald Reagan Day.” This year, to celebrate Reagan’s 106th birthday, 32 states — three with Democrat governors — signed official proclamations recognizing the late president.

Grover Norquist founded the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project in 1997. The project is committed to preserving the legacy of the 40th President of the United States throughout the nation and abroad, and also works to encourage the naming of buildings, roads, landmarks, and schools after the late President. There are currently 151 domestic dedications in 33 states and the District of Columbia, and 17 international dedications in nine countries. 

Norquist said: “Reagan reduced the size and scope of government, cut taxes for all Americans, and laid the foundation for economic prosperity. By the time he left office, America was freer, safer, and stronger in every way. And although he has been out of office for over a quarter of a century, he remains the leader his successors should emulate.”

The following 32 Governors have issued proclamations declaring today as Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

  • Alabama- Robert Bentley (R)
  • Arizona- Doug Ducey (R)
  • Arkansas- Asa Hutchinson (R)
  • California- Jerry Brown (D)
  • Colorado- John Hickenlooper (D)
  • Florida- Rick Scott (R)
  • Georgia-Nathan Deal (R)
  • Idaho- Butch Otter (R)
  • Illinois- Bruce Rauner (R)
  • Indiana- Eric Holcomb (R)
  • Iowa- Terry Branstad (R)
  • Kansas- Sam Brownback (R)
  • Kentucky- Matt Bevin (R)
  • Maine- Paul LePage (R)
  • Maryland- Larry Hogan (R)
  • Massachusetts- Charlie Baker (R)
  • Michigan- Rick Snyder (R)
  • Mississippi- Phil Byant (R)
  • Nevada- Brian Sandoval (R)
  • New Hampshire- Chris Sununu (R)
  • New Jersey- Chris Christie (R)
  • New Mexico- Susana Martinez (R)
  • North Dakota- Jack Dalrymple (R)
  • Ohio- John Kasich (R)
  • Oklahoma- Mary Fallin (R)
  • South Dakota- Dennis Daugaard (R)
  • Tennessee- Bill Haslam (R)
  • Texas- Greg Abbott (R)
  • Vermont- Phil Scott (R)
  • West Virginia- Jim Justice (D)
  • Wisconsin- Scott Walker (R)
  • Wyoming- Matt Mead (R)