Four candidates for Maine’s 2010 gubernatorial race recently signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. Republican candidates Matt Jacobson, Paul LePage, Les Otten, and Bruce Poliquin all signed the Pledge last week. ATR strongly encourages all candidates in the race to sign the Pledge and make a real commitment to protect taxpayers from the unnecessary burden of higher taxes.

The candidates are vying to replace current Democrat Governor John Baldacci. Baldacci is not eligible for re-election in 2010 as he is term limited to two terms. The state tends to lean Democratic: Democrats control the U.S. House, State House and State Senate in Maine. However, both U.S. Senators are Republicans. By signing the Pledge, these four candidates have made clear their commitment to the voters and businesses of Maine through keeping taxes low.
To see ATR’s official release on these candidates signing the Pledge, click here.