Each year the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project asks governors from all 50 states to issue a proclamation declaring Feb. 6 “Ronald Reagan Day” in their respective states. Today, the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project proudly commends the 40 governors — Republicans and Democrats alike — who have chosen to honor President Reagan’s 102nd birthday.

“Ronald Reagan led America forward to defeat the threats to our prosperity of high taxes, inflation, and recession at home and a surging Soviet Empire abroad.  He left America stronger, freer, and safer than the day he became President,” said Grover Norquist, founder and chairman of the project.

Founded in 1997, the project is committed to preserving the legacy of the 40th President of the United States.  In addition to promoting Feb. 6 as Ronald Reagan Day, the project works to encourage the naming of landmarks, buildings, and roads after President Reagan. Currently there are 108 domestic dedications in 28 states, and 14 international dedications in seven countries.

Examples of domestic dedications include the Reagan Elementary School in Omaha, the Ronald Reagan Cross County Highway in Cincinnati, and even a Reagan bust located in a McDonald’s – the Ronald Reagan Memorial Bust in Northport, Alabama.

In Nevada, the Mount Reagan Project is leading an effort to name a mountain in honor of the late president.   

Recent international dedications include a statue in London, a statue in Budapest, and a statue in Warsaw.

All 30 GOP governors are issuing proclamations, as well as nine Democratic governors and one independent governor – Rhode Island’s Lincoln Chafee.  Eight Democratic governors have refused to issue proclamations (including Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear and Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick) and two Democratic governors have yet to make a decision (Connecticut Gov. Dannel Malloy and Washington Gov. Jay Inslee).

The 40 governors issuing proclamations declaring Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

Alabama – Robert Bentley (R)
Alaska – Sean Parnell (R)
Arizona – Janice Brewer (R)  
California – Jerry Brown (D)
Colorado – John Hickenlooper (D)
Florida – Rick Scott (R)
Georgia – Nathan Deal (R)
Idaho – Butch Otter (R)
Illinois – Pat Quinn (D)
Indiana – Mike Pence (R)
Iowa – Terry Branstad (R)
Kansas – Sam Brownback (R)
Louisiana – Bobby Jindal (R)
Maine – Paul LePage (R)   
Maryland – Martin O’Malley (D)
Michigan – Rick Snyder (R)
Mississippi – Phil Bryant (R)
Missouri – Jay Nixon (D)
Montana – Steve Bullock (D)
Nebraska – Dave Heineman (R)
Mississippi – Phil Bryant (R)
Missouri – Jay Nixon (D)

Montana – Steve Bullock (D)

Nebraska – Dave Heineman (R)

Nevada – Brian Sandoval (R)
New Hampshire – Maggie Hassan (D)
New Jersey – Chris Christie (R)
New Mexico – Susana Martinez (R)
New York – Andrew Cuomo (D)
North Carolina – Pat McCrory (R)
North Dakota – Jack Dalrymple (R)
Ohio – John Kasich (R)
Oklahoma – Mary Fallin (R)
Pennsylvania – Tom Corbett (R)
Rhode Island – Lincoln Chafee (I)
South Carolina – Nikki Haley (R)
South Dakota – Dennis Daugaard (R)
Tennessee – Bill Haslam (R)
Texas – Rick Perry (R)
Utah – Gary Herbert (R)
Virginia – Bob McDonnell (R)
West Virginia – Earl Ray Tomblin (D)
Wisconsin – Scott Walker (R)
Wyoming – Matt Mead (R)


The eight governors who have refused to issue a proclamation declaring Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

Arkansas – Mike Beebe (D)
Delaware – Jack Markell (D)
Hawaii – Neil Abercrombie (D)
Kentucky – Steve Beshear (D)        
Massachusetts – Deval Patrick (D)
Minnesota – Mark Dayton (D)
Oregon – John Kitzhaber (D)
Vermont – Peter Shumlin (D)

The two governors who have not yet decided whether or not to issue a proclamation declaring Ronald Reagan Day in their states:

Connecticut – Dannel Malloy (D)
Washington – Jay Inslee (D)