federal_pledge_resized (3)

Taxpayers in The Badger State will be happy to learn that Scott Fitzgerald and Cliff DeTemple have signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in the WI-05 Republican primary. They are running to replace retiring U.S. Congressman and Pledge signer Jim Sensenbrenner. By signing the Pledge, these candidates make a written commitment to oppose and vote against any efforts to increase taxes on Wisconsin taxpayers.  

Scott Fitzgerald is the Majority Leader of the Wisconsin State Senate and has been endorsed by outgoing Rep. Sensenbrenner. Fitzgerald’s primary opponent, Cliff DeTemple, has also signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. DeTemple is a small business owner specializing in measuring systems for Land Surveying.  

With a Solid Republican rating from Cook Political Report, the winner of tomorrow’s primary is a strong favorite to become the next Congressman from Wisconsin’s 5th district.  

In Wisconsin, every Republican in the state congressional delegation has signed the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. Candidates running for public office like to say they will not raise taxes, but often turn their backs on the taxpayer once elected. The idea of the Taxpayer Protection Pledge is simple enough: Make them put their no-new-taxes rhetoric in writing, so the promise is harder to break.  

ATR strongly urges all candidates running for elected office to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledges. Candidates can still make this important commitment to voters ahead of the primary by visiting ATR.org.